February Challenge Week Three

Apparently… I am an idiot. In my last post I said I had 9 more movies to watch, when I actually had 11! This week I completed 3, which leaves me 8 movies to try and squeeze in before this Friday :) The movies were Grave of the Fireflies, Whisper of the Heart, and Porco Rosso. So far, I’ve been having a great time getting to experience all that Studio Ghibli has to offer.

Don’t read my reviews if you don’t want spoilers! :)

Castle in the Sky

Grave of the Fireflies
My Neighbor Totoro
Kiki’s Delivery Service
Only Yesterday
Porco Rosso
Pom Poko
Whisper of the Heart
Princess Mononoke
My Neighbors the Yamadas
Spirited Away
The Cat Returns
Howl’s Moving Castle
Tales from Earthsea
Ponyo
The Secret World of Arrietty
From Up On Poppy Hill
The Wind Rises
The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Grave of the Fireflies (1988)
Rating: 10/10
I didn’t want to, but I knew I had to watch this movie. I had only watched it once before and that was enough for me. I cried the first time I watched it, and I cried even more the second time. This story is set during World War II and it follows a boy and his young sister as they try to survive after air raids bomb their home and subsequently kill their mother. It is absolutely heartbreaking watching the children struggle to survive. Eventually, the little sister dies from malnutrition and the brother is left with the overwhelming feeling of guilt that ends up consuming him. It gives an honest portrayal of the impact of war.The story is so raw and honest, and it makes you thankful for the family you have. It was such an emotionally-impacting movie that I just had to give it 10/10.

Porco Rosso (1992)
Rating: 7.5/10
I thought this was a fantastic movie. I initially didn’t want to watch it because it seemed interesting, but keeping to my goal I sat down and watched it. The animation was incredible, especially when it came to the flight scenes. I enjoyed Porco Rosso and Fio’s character (especially Fio :D). It was a wonderful story of believing in yourself and your abilities. However, my favorite detail of this movie is the rich history behind the movie. It’s filled with many references to famous pilots and real locations. The movie was made with tremendous care and attention to detail. I admire Hayao Miyazaki’s hard work in to his movies. He truly pours his soul in to it.

Whisper of the Heart (1995)
Rating: 10/10
This is the movie that started it all. I fell in love with Studio Ghibli productions after I watched this movie. This is the film that I tell people is my favorite of all time, and it’s the only movie that makes me cry happy tears. When I first watched this movie, I felt a connection to Shizuku and her quest for finding her dream. I was also a big reader and wanted to write the stories that played in my head. I also had a huge imagination like hers. This movie holds a huge place in my heart. It is also one of my favorite love stories ever. I enjoy Studio Ghibli’s depiction of love, especially young love. It’s so innocent and pure. And in this movie, the love that develops between Shizuku and Seiji is a love somebody can only hope for. They are so devoted to each other, but also devoted to their dreams. And it has the best ending ever!

Leave a Reply

